RSS

Daily Archives: January 11, 2013

Paleo on the farm. Something new…or really old.

As I have been seeing some of the people I follow on Twitter and Facebook start to post more regular blogs I have been bitten by the urge to post little things more regularly than I have been.  So, I hope that this is the first in a long line of posts that will be coming.  

Brian and I have gone Paleo in our diet and we are loving it.  We are not seeing it so much as a diet but as a new way of eating that makes us feel better.  I have been searching for new recipes to try and new books to read.  I have had to learn a new way of meal planning, but slowly it is coming together and I am feeling not so overwhelmed.

One thing that has helped me immensely is a service that sends you a shopping list and a whole week’s worth of recipes.  In the past I have used eMeals (and loved it) and they do have a Paleo option now as well.  But I was needing something more comprehensive (more than one meal a day) and something that used more fresh items instead of prepackaged ones.  After some research, I found PaeloPlan.  Which also happens to be located here in the Portland area so that was an unexpected plus.  

The plan sends you a new menu each week.  There are three meals a day as well as snacks.  The menu feels more refined than eMeals and the recipes are easy to follow.  I also like how they recognize that you most likely have to work all week and do not want to come home to prep a bunch of items.  At the beginning of each week there is a summary of what can be done ahead of time.  I think this has helped me stay on track, and by proxy also helped Brian stay on track.  We have both lost weight, but more importantly we feel better and have more energy.  

I am looking forward to planting a big garden and providing the majority of our vegetables this summer and fall.  It is great fun to sit next to the wood stove and plan out the spring garden and dream of days that are above 40 degrees and have a few rays of sunshine.  

Have you thought of going Paelo? Changed the way you have been eating lately?  Why? 

 

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on January 11, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: ,